Home

I rented out a Mamyia RB67 to take back to the student accommodation I am staying at as I wanted to shoot film to show the typical day of a student living in university halls. I shot all my photographs on 120 medium format black and white film. The first two images I shot of my flat mate on his laptop and some alcohol I double exposed, which was actually an accident but I think it worked out quite well. I was pleased with nearly all of my images minus one that came out blurry as I didn’t focus it well enough or moved as I took the shot.

By taking these photographs it shows the social structure that I am living in at the moment, how I have to share my living space with other people, the constant drinking/partying of university students, making new friends…etc. I took a photograph of my flat mate on his laptop and a separate image of my own laptop and monitor because I thought it was quite important to show how there is a lot of technology used by this generation. Some people could look at this and think that the new technology culture of today is a bad thing where as others would completely disagree and defend how it is extremely important.

I feel that this piece of work is similar to Nan Goldin’s as she photographs her own life and what goes on with her friends in it. I also had a similar concept of photographing a day in my life living in halls to show what my friends do and where we live.

Jimmy Paulette and Tabboo! undressing, NYC 1991

 

 

One thought on “Life In Halls

  1. Pingback: Elektrische Zahnbuerste

Leave a Reply

