Home

Richard Billingham photographed and documented his daily life where his alcoholic father (Ray) and obese mother (Liz) became the subjects of majority of his images. He produced a a book where he showed some of these images called  ‘Ray’s a Laugh’ which I found quoted interesting to look through. In these sets of images Billingham shows his normal life, what his family is like even if it isn’t a ‘perfect’ family life. I really enjoyed looking through his book “Ray’s a laugh” as it showed what his life was really like, he didn’t try to glorify anything but showed the truth.

I chose a few of my favourite images from the book. Although they are not all in focus or have the best composition I think they work really work as it captures the true meaning of the images. Some of the photograph are very simple but work really well, I would like to do something in this style for my final images in assignment 1 to show my ‘new’ life & ‘family’  here at uni.

One thought on “Richard Billingham

  1. I not to mention my buddies have already been analyzing the great tips found on your website and so before long came up with an awful feeling I never thanked the web site owner for those techniques. Those young men were consequently stimulated to learn them and have now undoubtedly been making the most of these things. Thank you for indeed being well considerate and also for deciding upon varieties of cool subject areas millions of individuals are really eager to be aware of. Our own honest regret for not saying thanks to you sooner.

Leave a Reply

