Home

The past two weeks we started our new module, Working With Light. In these past two weeks we have been learning pinhole photography and how to make our own camera! I first started of with making a basic pinhole camera out of a fanta drinking can as this was an easy small object to work with. I didn’t quite get the hang of using it as I kept processing just black negatives, this was very frustrating! We then learnt how to use a light metre to work with our pinhole cameras in order to make a ‘perfect’ picture and not just guess the time of exposure. We done this by measuring the  width from the pinhole to film/photo paper and divided by the size of the pinhole and then figure out the f-stop from there. Once we learnt this I though I would make a better pinhole camera, I done this out of making one from a rectangular tin. I painted the inside black to make sure it was all light proof and no colour would due bouncing of the inside walls as they were originally silver. Once I make a negative I was happy with I then make a positive picture from the negative pinhole image.

These are my attempts at pinhole photography (starting with my 1st attempts to my most successful, recent, attempts)…

Leave a Reply

