Home

“Joel Meyerowitz is an award-winning photographer whose work has appeared in over 350 exhibitions in museums and galleries around the world. He was born in New York in 1938. He began photographing in 1962. He is a “street photographer” in the tradition of Henri Cartier-Bresson and Robert Frank, although he works exclusively in colour.”

“His first book, Cape Light, is considered a classic work of color photography and has sold more than 100,000 copies during its 30-year life. He is the author of 17 other books, including the newly released book by Aperture,Legacy: The Preservation of Wilderness in New York City Parks.”

Biography 

Cape Light straight away stood out to me. The way Meyerowitz captures light in his photographs is truly stunning. After looking through his book Cape Light it has given my some ideas for my own project to do with light. I really enjoyed looking through the series of photographs as they were all very different to each other but at the same time had that link of light to string them all together, it worked very well.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s