Home

Week 1; The Portrait

“Pre-visualize and produce a self portrait [using only available light*] unrestricted in theme and technique yet still supplying a message to the viewer. You should spend time first understanding what it is you wish to convey before then looking at the composition and mechanics of the image and finally production.

* While you are required to use only available light you can still shape and adjust this light as you see fit. Street lights, laptops, computers and televisions can all be employed.”

Taking a portrait of myself that actually tells the viewer about myself started of as a tricky task, I thought about all the possible idea I could shoot then got the idea to just shoot exactly what I’m really feeling.

The past few months I feel as if my heads been all over the place, this photograph represents how I feel torn between many situations that have been and are going on showing how I’m confused and frustrated by this. I chose to do a long exposure and have several of my faces to show how chaotic parts of life have become.

I photographed against a white wall and shot in black and white because of the ‘chaos’ already in the image I wanted to keep it simple without using any colour.

SelfPortrait

Leave a Reply

