Home

Creative Workshop 2: The Tribe

To photograph from the inside. Photograph as Nan Goldin says ‘Your Tribe’. Study someone you are close to and make images with them of an intimate nature.

Bear in mind your own vulnerabilities from the first task when you begin this new photographic relationship and ensure you are completely competent technically so you can focus on the making of images without being distracted by other details.

This is my task set for the week I began with thinking, ‘who is in my tribe’. I seem to find myself having many friends and really struggled to think who can I really photograph intimately naturally? I am still tying to figure out who I want to photograph but for now I think i’m going to take images of the people I live with and see how that goes.

As well as thinking about my own tribe in lecture we were told about artists who photograph in this style such as;

  • Elinor Carucci
  • Latoya Ruby Frazier
  • Nan Goldin
  • Larry Clark (Tulsa)
  • Ryan McGinley
  • Ross Rawlings
  • Nobuyoshi Araki (sentimental journey, winter journey)
  • Sally Mann
  • Filipe Cascada 

I really enjoyed looking at all these photographers work, especially as some of them are some of my favourite photographers such as Nan Goldin.

I took this photograph last night in my flat, and I guess you could call this my ‘Tribe’ as these are the people I surround myself with every friday night and weekends in our usual flat parties that take place. Maybe I will expand this with one of my friends from this group, after I’ve done some more research, thinking and more photographing hopefully something will come to me.

flat208

Leave a Reply

