Home
Seeking. You cant stop doing it. Sometimes it feels as if the basic drives for food, sex and sleep have been overridden by a new need for endless nuggets of electronic information. We are so insatiably curious that we gather data even if it get us in trouble. 
This is the opening statement for this article and I couldnt agree with it anymore than what I do. Our generation of today are obsessed with this ‘electronic information’ we are on a constant mission to get more, find out more, search more etc.
We search for information we dont even care about
This couldn’t be further from right, although yes we do and I do search for information needed and relevant to what I am doing at that time online but a lot of the time I often find myself googling the most pointless things ever and then question myself on what I am even doing, how and why have I gotten this distracted from what I was originally doing. 
Virginia Heffernan in the New York Times said she became so obsessed with the Twitter posts about the Henry Louis Gates Jr. arrest that she spend days “refreshing my search like a drugged monkey”. Just that little quote of being ‘like a drugged monkey’ is quite funny in itself. We have gotten to the point where we are so obsessed that we spend hours just starting at our computer screens or smart phones constantly refreshing to see what new it coming up on our timelines, hoping and waiting for something new to pop up to read.
I have to admit I do find myself constantly taking my phone out my pocket, to be honest 8 out of 10 times my phone will be glued to my hand anyway, to check if I have a new text, phone call, tweet, facebook, email notification and more than half the time I do…so no wonder I am constantly obsessing over my phone! It has gotten to the point where I cannot see myself with having my phone for more than half an hour because I just know there will be something there waiting for me to open and I am impatient that I need to look at it asap. I find that a lot of my fellow friends are the same and are always with their phones buzzing in their hands or pockets.
FacebookStat
This graph just proves how crazy the amount of time we spend on Facebook and other social networking sites is!
Our sense of time is controlled by the Dopamine system and we can quickly lose track of time once sat down in front of a screen for a long period of time, an hour can pass and we only think only 15min have gone by! I know this has happened to me several times. The article talks about being addicted as if a drug which is so correct because you feel like you need to keep looking or going back onto Twitter or whatever to see what everyone is going and writing about. I think in the space of writing this review I have checked twitter a good few times!
I think our generation have to try and re learn how to not be so dependant on this social networking craze as much as we are now because sooner or later we will not longer be leaving the house to visit friends and family because we will just be able to talk to them and skype them all from home, we will become to lazy to do anything without being digital! What a scary thought!
Leave a Reply

