Home

Today I’ve been doing my sound research trying to find all the sounds and music I need for my photo film. I have got all my ambient sounds for the war such as gun shots, people shouting, helicopters etc. As well as ambient sounds I was trying to find some typical Portuguese music (Fado) as I thought this would be good to include into the project. I came across a website of an artist who does this music. I started to listen to one of his songs and thought, let me read the text above and the song was actually about a Solider who died in the Portuguese Colonial War and the artist Alexandre Bateiras was able to capture this moment in his music.

What is truly remarkable on “Canções da Lua Nova” (in portuguese “Songs of the New Moon”) is that these eleven songs (and an outro) were in kept in a drawer for over thirty years. This is an unbelieveble instrumental fado music collection hidden for too long.

Although Alexandre Bateiras has always been a portuguese-guitar player – he plays since he was 15 -, he was never concerned about releasing new songs. Well, it was only due to his son’s persistence that the tracks saw daylight.

 Please make notice to the fact that you’re not listening to music only, you’re listening to the stories that were left behind on Alentejo’s plain (South of Portugal). Most of the songs names are real places names. And those that are not still have something important to remind us. For instance, “Tributo” is as tribute to a soldier who died during the portuguese colonial war back in the 60’s. Alexandre Bateiras was there, whitnessed the moment and was able to show us what happened with a few chords.

– FMA

I will most likely be using Alexandre Bateira – Tributo as part of my soundtrack as it has so much relevance to my project.

Here are some links to other sounds I will be using within my project…

Leave a Reply

