Home

For my exhibition I want to have a bit of information for my audience to know about my work as I am sure that many people coming to view it won’t be aware or have that much knowledge about the Portuguese Colonial war so because of that I want to have a few short sentences or a paragraph about what it is about.

I think I will be using the beginning of my proposal as in there I spoke about what it was and how it still is remembered by the portuguese and lusophone Portuguese.

Although four decades have passed since the war Portugal’s dictator, Salazaar, influence still remains. Police agencies he formed are still active as well as reminders of him such as the bridge over River Tejo which is still used everyday although now its name has changed to the date of the Portuguese Revolution as oppose to its previous name after him.

 

 Approximately 14,000 Portuguese soldiers died fighting in the colonial war of the 1960’ and 1970’s in the Portuguese African colonies, Angola, Mozambique and Guinea-Bissau, but overall around tens of thousands died during the duration of the war. Once these countries gained independence from Portugal in 1975 millions of lives were additionally taken as civil war broke out throughout all three undeveloped countries. As a result, over a million refugees emigrated to Portugal, ending in straining the Portuguese economy.

I think that this is enough information to give my viewers about my work as it is not too long to read but does give enough information for them to understand the background of the work that they will be viewing. I think it is important to have some information about the work as in majority of exhibitions have information paragraphs about their work to inform the viewer so I thought I should also have one for mine.

Leave a Reply

