Home

I needed to find some audio to be the soundtrack to my photo film and I already knew I wanted it to be a Portuguese song as when I used a portuguese song on my #Phonar photo film it really worked well and I got a good response from it. I searched for a few days to find a perfect song that fitted and after a day I decided I wanted a song that was linked with the Colonial War. I decided on a song by José Afonso called Ronda Dos Paisanos because it had a nice smooth tune to it with meaningful lyrics, although people who didn’t understand Portuguese would not be able to understand them it was important for me to have it in Portuguese so that it all flowed. The song talks about being in the barracks with the guard and saluting to him.

It did take me a while to pick a song and because of this it was one of the last thing I done when editing my photo film I added in the background music in last and thankfully it fitted in perfectly with my film (although I still have editing to do)! I had to loop the audio because the song is only around 3 minutes long and my film was just over 4 so I had to loop it for an extra minute which was fine.

Lyrics

Ao cair da madrugada
No quartel da guarda
Senhor general
Mande embora a sentinela
Mande embora e não lhe faça mal
Ao cair do nevoeiro
Senhor brigadeiro
Não seja papão
Mande embora a sentinela
Mande embora a sua posição
Ao cair do céu cinzento
Lá no regimento
Senhor coronel
Mande embora a sentinela
Mande embora e deixe o seu quartel
Ao cair da madrugada
Depois da noitada
Senhor capitão
Mande embora a sentinela
Mande embora o seu guarda-portão
Ao cair do sol nascente
Venha meu tenente
Deixe a prevenção
Mande embora a sentinela
Mande embora e tire o seu galão
Ao cair do frio vento
Primeiro sargento
Junte o pelotão
Mande embora a sentinela
Mande embora e cale o seu canhão
Ao cair do sol doirado
Venha meu soldado
Largue o seu punhal
Vá-se embora sentinela
Vá-se embora que aí fica mal
Vá-se embora sentinela
Vá-se embora que aí fica mal

References

JFDCamara. (2011). José Afonso – Ronda dos Paisanos. Available: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4gPUCWp8iE4. Last accessed 09.05.2014.

Leave a Reply

